Do Twizzlers have Gelatin? Are Twizzlers vegan?

(Last Updated On: )
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases

Twizzlers have been a classic go-to snack for kids and adults alike for generations. But have you ever stopped to wonder what exactly is inside those delicious twists of fruity goodness? With a growing increase in vegan diets many people are stopping to wonder whether Twizzlers are vegan friendly.

Are Twizzlers Vegan and Do Twizzlers Contain Gelatin?

Twizzlers do not contain any gelatin or any other animal products; therefore Twizzlers are vegan candies that are also free of trans fats.

What is Gelatin?

Gelatin is a collagen protein derived from animal products such as skin, bones, and hooves. In other words, gelatin is not vegan. Any food product or candy that contains gelatin should be avoided by those following a vegan diet.

What are Twizzlers?

Twizzlers are a delicious fruity candy made with a sweet, chewy, and salty licorice-flavored twist. They are manufactured Y&S candies which is a subsidiary of the Hershey company.

You can find Twizzlers at most grocery stores, convenience stores, vending machines, or online. They get their sharp fruity flavor from citric acid which can be seen in the ingredients list in the next section.

Each Twizzlers pack contains eight eight-inch twists you can enjoy with your kids. While Twizzlers may not be the healthiest snack, they are arguably better than many other candy and snack options. Twizzlers are low in calories at around 40 calories per twist and are free of trans fats.

Twizzlers Flavor Variations

Twizzlers come in various flavors, including cherry, grape, orange, raspberry, strawberry, and watermelon. They also produce a limited edition flavor each year, such as banana split or peppermint, and seasonal flavors, like peppermint bark or pumpkin spice.

The most popular flavor in the range is by far Strawberry Twizzlers, which are of course vegan friendly. However, all of the flavors mentioned above are vegan Twizzlers flavors and safe to eat.

Although all of the regular flavors are types of fruit, the flavoring unfortunately is artificial, and there are no natural fruit extracts used to make Twizzlers. It is for this reason that even though the candy is vegan friendly and relatively low in calories, you probably want to eat it in moderation as Twizzlers contain a high anount of artificial flavor and color

Twizzler Ingredients

  • Corn Syrup
  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Cornstarch (different to corn syrup)
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial Color (Red 40)
  • Mineral Oil
  • Lecithin

Nutritional information

source –

Do Any of Twizzlers Ingredients Have Gelatin?

Sometimes an ingredient itself could be made up of various different components, which can hide something you’re trying to avoid (such as gelatin). In the case of Twizzlers though there are no “sub-ingredients” to look out for, what you see is what you get.

Twizzlers main ingredients are corn syrup, enriched wheat flour, sugar and cornstarch. These four ingredients make up the chewy candy texture of a Twizzler twist that people sometimes mistake for gelatin. It’s an easy mistake to make as gelatin is commonly associated with Jell-O and other sweets and desserts.

Numerous people consume a vegan diet but are unaware of the ingredients commonly found in many foods. Therefore, many people are often unsure what foods to consume while following a vegan diet. Fortunately, Twizzlers are a vegan-friendly treat that everyone can enjoy.

How to Incorporate Twizzlers Into Your Diet

Twizzlers are a great go-to snack for satisfying a sweet craving. They can be eaten on their own or used in many different recipes. They are also a great addition to a sweet and salty mixed-snack platter. You can use Twizzlers to make rolls, butterscotch squares, or caramelized apples. They can also be used to make s’mores, a fun twist on the classic campfire treat.

You can also make Twizzlers ice cream following a very simple recipe. Simply freeze a Twizzlers twist and use it as a homemade ice cream swirl. Depending on your preferences, it can also be used as a sweet treat and a savory snack.


Twizzlers are mainly based on corn syrup and not gelatin. Twizzlers have been a favorite among adults, children, and teens for generation. After taking a closer look at the ingredients, nutrition facts, and health benefits, it’s easy to conclude that Twizzlers are indeed a healthy snack or treat. The chewy licorice is low in fat, contains natural flavors and colors, and is an excellent source of dietary fiber. Twizzlers may also have some health benefits, such as being a good source of iron and a natural energy booster. So, if you’re looking for a tasty snack or treat that won’t break your diet, Twizzlers are a perfect choice.

Leave a Comment